housework

I spent most of today doing housework.  I cleaned the bathrooms, cleaned the kitchen, ran the sweeper, did 3 weeks’ worth of laundry, and went shopping for groceries and other supplies.  Ugh.

Housework totally depresses me.  It’s very mundane, I can’t surf the internet while doing it (for the most part), and the chemicals give me a headache.  However, in between chore-type things, I also did some non-housework.  Now it’s 3 a.m., and I’m totally exhausted (don’t feel too sorry for me, though, I woke up at noon today).  I thought of the various housewifey blogs that talk about how housework is so much easier and fun if you don’t have a non-housewife job.

I’m not sure I agree with this.  The actual housework itself is not terribly taxing — in fact, it’s just mindless enough that it bores me, but also just involved enough that I can’t really do anything else concurrently.  Not for real, anyway (watching TV and listening to music doesn’t count).  Actually, the only thing that kept me from breaking down in a fit of exhausted tears was my job, which I love so much that it’s like a fun vacation for me.  I imagine that if I wasn’t working “outside” the home (though I technically work from home), I’d honestly go crazy.

My husband, on the other hand, is the opposite.  He also loves his job (he’s also self-employed), but if he wasn’t working “outside” the home he’d chill out all day and read books and think life was generally fantastic.  I’m not exactly Type A, but he is very Type B.

Anyway, housework is done for the next month, as far as I’m concerned.  The boy can fold the laundry and do the dishes.  I would totally hire someone to do all this, but we live in a two-bedroom apartment.  Hiring someone feels a bit like a cop-out.  That said, our “second income” (mine) is fairly significant, and so maybe a cop-out is in order.

Yeah, I fail as a housewife.  But I’m hot, so who cares?

11 thoughts on “housework

  1. so i should probably assume that you occasionally do certain housework tasks, such as scrubbing floors, while dressed in a slutty maid outfit?

  2. I try to combine my housework with working out…go super fast..bend and stretch more that might be necessary..etc. It feels less wasteful that way.

  3. Get a cordless phone and headset. Then call up your friends and chat while puttering. It doesn’t work for noisy tasks, but it’s fine for cooking, picking up, laundry. I’ve got it to the point where I feel the urge to call people when I need to clean.

  4. Paige — that’s an excellent tip, but I’m not much for yoga- or cardio-type exercise (I lift rather heavily). But it’s a great idea for others!

    Aldonza — also a good tip, also not my style. I’m not much for talking on the phone, unless it’s to make plans, and most of my friends have set schedules. That and I rarely spend very much time on any one thing. I never cook anything that takes more than 15 – 20 minutes to make (unless it’s in a slow cooker), and I pick up things in a flurry of quickness (usually…15 – 20 min), and laundry can be combined with non-housework except for the folding part, which my husband does. I don’t really “putter,” I either work or sleep…haha.

  5. A husband only cares about his wife not doing enough housework if the house is a COMPLETE disaster, or if other areas are lacking. Based on this post, you do enough work around the house so that it doesn’t turn to hell, and based on other blog posts, you sex your husband up enough to the point that he should be a happy man. So yeah, you’re not a housewife but I’m sure it’s forgiven, lol.

  6. The house is occasionally hell. During certain times of the year, both of us are so busy that we barely have time to sleep (sleep is the first to go when we’re busy, then food, then working out, then sex), and the house is just an astronomical mess. During those times we mostly ignore it or hire someone. But I actually think the key to housework is doing enough to satisfy yourself. Our levels of “acceptability” in how the house looks differ (his is a little lower than mine in some areas, mine is a little lower than his in some areas), and if he thinks the house is a disaster he’ll do the minimum amount necessary to bring it up to the level of non-disaster. Which is exactly what I do. The reason I was doing so much laundry the other day is because our washer has been broken for about a month and both of us were too busy to call someone to fix it.

    Ultimately, both of our attitudes toward the situation are along these lines: if I have to do more work than I would have to do if I were living alone, something’s wrong. But otherwise, whatever.

  7. *Oh, also I cleaned the bathroom because it was an easy thing to do once a month’s worth of laundry had been removed from it…haha

  8. Can you drop me a quick email (should be in your wordpress stats), I have a good housekeeping tip for you, but is too identifying. I live in a small country 🙂

  9. Pingback: full-time vs. part-time homemakers | theslutwife

Leave a Reply

