do you always dress like such a slut?

Heh.  This is funny.  I was checking trackbacks to my blog (yes, I do that), and I saw this comment by the lovely Lily over at Rivelino’s blog:

I’m not sure if it is just in the bedroom for sex or whether that’s her style all the time. She did say she lives in California though so it’s not like she lives in Manhattan. Style seems a bit Vegasy though which if memory serves me rightly is in Nevada not CA though close enough. As I said, may just be a bedroom thing. I like her though, she’s funny.

I just think this is awesome and hysterical.  That said, of course I don’t dress like that all the time.  Obviously.  I thought this would have been obvious, but I guess I was wrong.

Anyway, here’s what I do wear on a day-to-day basis (everything pictured is something from my closet):

Jeans

7 For All Mankind ‘Roxanne’ Skinny Jeans | $178

Jeans are totally the staple of my closet.  I love jeans.  Jeans forever!  Team denim!  You get my point.  I love jeans because they’re cute, practical, and easy to wear.  Also, they allow me to do things like climb trees, race motorcycles, and play football.  My favorite jeans: Seven, Armani, and Abercrombie.

T-shirts

Go Make Noise Double V-Neck Tee | $29

Yes, I’m not big on shirts that require a lot of work to put on.  And by “a lot of work,” I mean anything with a button, a zipper, or a clasp.  These things annoy me.  T-shirts are amazing.  My favorite brands: I like all t-shirts.  I don’t discriminate.

Short Skirts

A&F Blythe Skirt | $58

I wear mini-skirts, but they’re not mini-stripper-skirts.  I only wear skirts that can be worn with sneakers or flip-flops.

Sneakers

Skechers Shape-Ups Toners | $80

I’ve recently fallen in love with Sketchers Shape-Ups — not because they tone my calves (as far as I can tell, they don’t do this), but because they’re sparkly.

Other Footwear

Havaianas ‘Slim’ Flip Flop | $24

In the winter, I wear boots and skinny jeans, instead of sneakers (never wear sneakers with skinny jeans, unless they’re Chuck Taylors and you’re a hipster!  Even then, don’t do it!).  In the summer, I usually wear flip-flops (Havaianas, to be exact).  I sometimes wear wedges, and I rarely wear heels unless I’m “going somewhere.”

Big, Obnoxious Sunglasses

Dior ‘Classic 1’ Oversized Square Sunglasses | $275

The boy says I look like a bug.  I say, “Why you hate bugs?”

The Occasional Dress

Herve Leger | $1350

Sometimes I go all out and don a dress in a non-going-somewhere-context.  Usually short, but occasionally long.  I do love Herve Leger.

16 thoughts on “do you always dress like such a slut?

  1. 🙂

    lol

    I know it should be obvious, but really I don’t take anything for granted where the US is concerned, things are always baffling me, that said I’m easily baffled by things in the UK too. And you really ought to see some of the pictures that Riv posted of clothes of girls in his area. It was like a flashback to the late 80s/early 90s.

    Funnily, I had those exact flip flops last summer, look like a peacock pattern. But the boy’s puppy ate them, I gave up after 3 pairs, they cost £25 each 😦

    Sadly, Seven jeans just don’t suit me. You have to be super skinny to carry them off I think, even on that model they don’t look super flattering. I don’t wear jeans much but when I do, I wear Citizen. I want to try out J Brand.

    lol on sunglasses, they were on E’s list on that thread.

  2. lily —

    i’ve not seen riv’s blog, at all, except for the linkback you gave me. as for the 80’s/90’s look you’re referring to, i have no idea what that means. side ponytails? dance clothes? leg warmers?

    re: flip flops — i love havaianas but i’ll admit i cheat — i have my friend from brazil send them to me. they’re like $3 in brazil.

    i’ve honestly never met anyone who hasn’t looked good in sevens, so that’s interesting. i love the way they fall. i do like citizen though…along with lucky brand. diesel is always a good fallback. yes, i do have like 20 pairs of jeans. yes that was an exaggeration. but you get the point.

    re: sunglasses, i know they make me look obnoxious. i think that’s why i like them. because they’re obnoxious. in girl-fashion-defense, they do help prevent wrinkles by covering up more of your skin. anyway my guy actually likes them, because he likes obnoxious things on girls. right, he’s very much into “attention whores,” one might say. he still doesn’t think they’re attractive, he just thinks it’s cute that i’m so obnoxious-looking.

    as for uggs, i have no idea why that trend hasn’t been killed a thousand times, already.

  3. those are the sluttiest sneakers i’ve EVER seen. it takes balls to wear them, -and delete my posts.

    MOUT

  4. firepower, this isn’t a democracy. if you annoy me, don’t add anything to the conversation, and aren’t even funny about it, i’ll just delete your posts.

  5. Ooh wifey, be careful, if you’re mean to him..well who knows how FP would react..I certainly suspect he would like it too much for his own good.

    “as for the 80′s/90′s look you’re referring to, i have no idea what that means. side ponytails? dance clothes? leg warmers?”
    Flowery print blouses. High waists on trousers and skirts. Fluffy permed hair.

    I cannot believe Uggs got big in California. I mean at least it’s cold here and even the worst offenders (juicy sweatpants, baby t shirts, teeny Louis Vuitton handbags) don’t wear them in the summer. We have a fairly casual dress policy at work unless meetings, but after a couple of people thought that meant it was ok to wear Uggs, we put them in the dress policy. Haven’t quite spelt out that Uggs specifically are a sackable offence but in essence they are. Lol.

  6. I certainly suspect he would like it too much for his own good.

    haha maybe.

    what is a “baby t shirt”? like a cropped top? or a babydoll top? or something else?

  7. It’s a t-shirt that’s deliberately a much smaller size, often it is bought from the children’s department. So it won’t be cropped as such but super tight.

  8. wifey

    firepower, this isn’t a democracy. if you annoy me, don’t add anything to the conversation, and aren’t even funny about it, i’ll just delete your posts.

    rawwwr….forgive me, i’m not accustomed to hot chicks being so harsh. especially the safe n’ married kind. You really got to put up a pic.

  9. forgive me, i’m not accustomed to hot chicks being so harsh

    fixed that for ya’ che

    @ lily, you have to expunge “baby t shirts” from your list of worst offenders, given your description. they sound delicious, especially if they stop halfway down the midriff

  10. It’s a t-shirt that’s deliberately a much smaller size, often it is bought from the children’s department. So it won’t be cropped as such but super tight.

    ah yes. well i’ll admit i’m not much for that look, mainly because it looks awkwardly small…i do like tight, and i do like cropped tops, but i feel ya.

  11. ritmo, it’s the overall look of the worst offenders. I don’t have anything specifically against the t-shirts.

    The reason for the tiny LV is a cost one I think, but they want to be logoed up, whilst they try and snare the sucker who would pay for them to have the ‘it’ bag every season.

  12. ok, i’ll admit that i have a tiny LV bag. actually i have a lot of rather pricey designer clothes…but i wouldn’t want my husband to buy them. not only would that be awkward, but it kind of defeats the purpose of designer things. it would definitely take away the allure of my “big” purchases if my husband was the one making them.

  13. You weren’t at a Lakewood walmart sniffing deoderant yesterday, were you? Cuz a cute dark-haired chick was wearing that same skirt.

Leave a comment